press release

Press Contact: Christina DePaolo, (206) 263-1588

4Culture Board of Directors for 2021

Board of Director changes for 2021

Every year, we say a fond farewell to dedicated 4Culture Board Directors who finish their terms and welcome new volunteers. 4Culture is King County’s cultural funding and services agency supported by Lodging Taxes and the 1% for Art ordinance. A 15-member Board of Directors is the governing body of 4Culture, with individuals representing the cultural, geographic, and ethnic diversity of King County.

We would like to recognize outgoing members for their service: Heather Trescases, Consultant and Former Executive Director, Eastside Heritage(President); Chris Moore, Executive Director, Washington Trust for Historic Preservation (Vice President); and Mitch Sheppard, Video producer, director, storyteller (Secretary).

A new Executive Team is led by Vivian Phillips, Communications Professional, Arts Manager, and Advocate (President), Jeanne Burbidge, Board Director for the Federal Way Performing Arts Foundation (Vice President), Natasha Rivers, Senior Sustainability & Measurement Manager at BECU (Secretary), Greg Beams, former CPA and Partner, Ernst & Young (Treasurer), and Eugenia Woo, Director of Preservation Services, Historic Seattle (Member-at-Large). We thank them for stepping into leadership roles for 2021.

There are four Ex-Officio Board Directors representing King County Government, and we thank them for their participation and guidance: Councilmember Rod Dembowski, District 1, Councilmember Jeanne Kohl-Welles, District 4, Councilmember Joe McDermott, District 8, and Jennifer Meisner, King County Historic Preservation Program.

Recently Appointed

The 4Culture staff and board are proud to welcome Seth Margolis and Latha Sambamurti, who were recently appointed to the 4Culture Board.

Seth Margolis

Seth Margolis is the Director of the William A. Helsell Education Department at The Museum of Flight in Seattle and has worked at heritage organizations in the United States and Canada. He teaches museum education for the UW Graduate Program in Museology, serves on the advisory board for the Museum Studies Certificate Program, and is a member of the 4Culture Heritage Advisory Committee. Margolis represents King County District 8.

“Seth’s passion for history and his command of museum education extend well beyond the walls of the Museum of Flight, through his dedication to the teaching and development of current and emerging cultural leaders. His perspective will be a welcome addition to the 4Culture Board.”
Joe McDermott, King County Council Vice Chair  

Latha Sambamurti

Latha Sambamurti is the producer & Artistic, Outreach and Development Director of several large-scale arts and culture festivals in Washington. She is an educator, trained musician, band leader, and winner of Kirkland Performance Center’s You Rock award for community service. Sambamurti has been a Washington State Arts Commissioner and a Redmond Arts & Culture Commissioner/Chair. She serves as a board director for several state and regional cultural organizations. Sambamurti holds a master’s degree in English Literature. Sambamurti represents King County District 6.

“Latha is a powerhouse, a true advocate for arts and culture on the East Side and beyond. She will bring energy and a wonderful focus on community engagement from years of experience organizing large-scale cultural activities as well as political advocacy.” Claudia Balducci, King County Council Chair